Week 10 – Let’s get some feedback

Alright, so I’ve made it out of the break, and now it’s back to work again. This weeks class activity was pretty useful- as well as daunting. This week we got feedback.

First though, I am going to further develop the pop-up shop idea. So far, I have been thinking of the project through purely economical means. However up till now, I hadn’t been thinking much about the conceptual connotations of purchasing a ‘shoebox’ worth of space. If you think about it, shoesboxes are interesting things. I seem to have missed the memo on women needing to have a few hundred pairs of shoes in their wardrobe, but even I’ve got about six or seven shoeboxes sitting about. They’re not filled with shoes of course. Oh no. They’re filled with something else entirely.

All my shoeboxes have something special about them. And remembering them, I dug through to the back of my wardrobe (losing a few good men on the way) and pulled them out. This is what I found:

Excuse the carpet :|

Excuse the carpet 😐

Postcards, souvenirs, ticket stubs. I am a chronic collector of paper when I travel and I have the shoeboxes to prove it. Often I end up using these bits and pieces of physical memory in my art projects, but sometimes they just sit in those shoeboxes for weeks and even months. I forget they’re even there, and as a result instead of drawing upon the vast number of interesting paper I have, I’ll go drop ten dollars on a scrapbooking paper pad at Spotlight. But going through this box today has been amazing. I keep finding all these bits of paper – like a postcard I picked up from a divey bar in Paris, or the plane ticket stub from Perth to Doha, and I’m reminded of all these fantastic places I’ve been. It’s heaps of fun to pick and choose through these memories, and this made me think of my project. As I’ve explained, Project walkabout will allow businesses and individuals to purchase a ‘shoebox’ of space. Why not play up that element of the design? After all, isn’t the act of finding a new interesting business to visit (which is actually an old business that hasn’t been advertising very well) kinda like my experiences finding old souvenirs and memories in a shoebox? I think this would be an interesting direction to take the aesthetic of this project, especially since I’ve just received feedback for my project.

Turns out Project Walkabout may not be the best thing to name my project, as the indigenous aspect may not be appropriate. I agree. I mentioned in my last post that I needed to make sure I didn’t make the project seem too indigenous art focussed. That would remove the universality of the store in respects to allowing businesses and individuals from all walks of life to participate. Also, it might seem kinda campy to call it ‘project walkabout’. It makes me think of early nineties Australian cartoons.

Because who didn’t enjoy a good episode of Crocadoo!

So after a bit of deliberation, I’ve decided to change the name of the project to: The Freo Shoebox!

However, this also means going back to the drawing board as far as logos go. Here is a mindmap.

If Fremantle had a shoebox, what would it contain?

If Fremantle had a shoebox, what would it contain?

After looking at the mindmap, it has become pretty clear what aesthetic direction I should take for this project. A somewhat handmade, energetic and slightly chaotic feel that reflects the nature of opening a shoebox of memories. This actually works out great with the concept of a market – especially the kind you get in Fremantle. Even the Fremantle markets are awash with quirky, crafty and handmade objects. I tried playing around with this idea by drawing out some logo ideas on brown paper.

Brown paper has a really nice texture against the ink

Brown paper has a really nice texture against the ink

I like the idea of using brown paper as it is vaguely reminiscence of a brown shoebox. This works well with both the concept of the store and the vibrant, handmade aesthetic that I’m going for.

I also tried designing a few more ideas on normal paper.

I tried going for a less sleek look for these logos. I'm aiming for something more grungy and imperfect looking.

I tried going for a less sleek look for these logos. I’m aiming for something more grungy and imperfect looking.

More logos. I played around with the idea of a fancy flowing script, but felt a better option would be an imperfect, hand-drawn font - just like someone labelling the side of a cardboard box.

More logos. I played around with the idea of a fancy flowing script, but felt a better option would be an imperfect, hand-drawn font – just like someone labeling the side of a cardboard box.

One of the key inspirations for these logos are Fremantle Street art. Every year the City of Fremantle holds a Street Art Festival. Fremantle takes a genuine pride in their local street artists – which really feeds into the overall creative vibe of the city. By looking at some of these crazy collages of colour, I decided to try and aim for something as frenetic and vibrant as Freo’s street art scene.

A bus stop in Fremantle (Juz & Dave, 2013)

(Emery, 2012)

All these images point to a bright, colourful edgy style. I’m hoping to capture some of that in the branding of the project. I tried coming up with some frenetic, collage like graphics to use in the logo.

Some collaged characters

Some collaged characters

More graffitti ideas

More graffitti ideas

Anyway, I’ll work on it a bit more for next week. In the meantime, lets take a look at this weeks tutorial.

Tutorial work – receiving Critique

This week we were asked to present our project idea to the class in order to get feedback. This was an incredibly useful tutorial, as it brought up problems with my project as well as confirming some of my suspicions. Allow me to first sum up my project idea.

Project Walkabout (note this excercise took place before I changed the name of the project)

Project Walkabout is a pre-fab pop-up store that will allow anyone to purchase a ‘shoebox’ worth of space for just $5.00. The store will sell locally sourced goods and allow people to find the stores the items come from. In addition to local items, the store will also sell the following:

Jars of Experience: No, not like an online RPG, more like a recycled Jam Jar that contains a pencil, some note paper, and a simplified map of Fremantle so people can ‘donate’ an experience by writing it down. The store will sell these experience jars for a gold coin donation, which will go to charity

Give a Future, Take a Future: This is a collaborative art project in which people can write down ‘futures’ on a sticky note and stick it to the wall of the shop. People can then pick a note up for themselves.

Being Critiques

Being Critiqued

The shop

The shop

What the store will be saying with some feedback

What the store will be saying with some feedback

Setting up for feedback

Setting up for feedback

The great thing about this excercise is it confirmed my suspicions that not alot of people will really contribute to the experience jar part of the project. There needs to be some incentive to convince them to contribute their time to write down their experiences. The second useful bit of feedback is the possibility that the store will cause congestion – especially since it will be located somewhere int he heart of Fremantle CBD. I will need to take this into consideration when I am designing the actual store. However, for now, I am relatively happy with the overall concept, and the direction the logo and aesthetics are going.

 

Emery, K. (2012, October 25). Freo allows ‘art’ graffiti. Freo allows art graffiti. Retrieved May 4, 2014, from https://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/15212102/freo-allows-art-graffiti/

Juz. (2013, April 10). City Profile: Fremantle. Our Naked Australia. Retrieved May 4, 2014, from http://www.ournakedaustralia.com.au/city-profile-fremantle/

 

Leave a Reply

