Week 10 – More logo work

I’ve been playing around with the ‘Shoebox logo a bit more. Here is a preliminary sketch:

I thought a shoebox that opens with a few hundred Fremantle inspired icons would work out.

I thought a shoebox that opens with a few hundred Fremantle inspired icons would work out.

I even tried to set up a mock-up photo, hoping I could maybe use that:

Please excuse the mess - I'm springcleaning

Please excuse the mess – I’m springcleaning

Based on that, I drew up a refined sketch and it looks alright. I tried to include a bunch of wacky vaguely Fremantle inspired objects pouring out. It looks alright – if a bit too cartoony.

First concept

First concept

Overall, I was kinda happy with the results. I don’t feel it has nearly enough objects pouring out, and I don’t really like the words scrawled on the side of the box. It feels a little bit too cartoony without the graffiti edginess I was aiming for. I tried colouring the logo in watercolours since I felt something really hand-made and organic was called for. I wasn’t entirely happy with the results. The colours didn’t seem vibrant enough, and I feel there isn’t enough flowing out of the box. I removed the logo from the side of the box too.

Logo coloured with watercolours

Logo coloured with watercolours

So I tried a redraw, and this is what I came up with:

Sketch

Sketch

I am actually pretty happy with this sketch, so I proceeded to ink it:

Inked

Inked

And then I was so happy with it, I coloured it and gave it a background:

Coloured and with a spiffy, handwritten name!

Coloured and with a spiffy, handwritten name!

 

And there it is! The Freo Shoebox logo. I am incredibly happy with how this one turned out. The brown background really lifts the colours off the page, and I’ve included a nod towards the three types of merchandise the shop offers (You can see a jam jar, a photograph and some Fremantle souvenirs). I had decided to hang draw the font, as the imperfectness of it is similar to the imperfect handwriting you would use to label storage boxes. I wanted to communicate a sense of craftyness and the home-made-ness in the overall logo, which is why I stuck to a logo with plenty of mistakes but all of the charm. Next week – the store itself!

 

Leave a Reply

