Week 11- Shop design and location

So this week I don’t have too much time to type. I’ve begun doing most of my assignments, so I’ll just be posting some more of the design development for my project.

In my last post I talked about the development of the ‘Freo Shoebox’ logo. This week, I’ll just be talking briefly about further developing the design of the store, and figuring out it’s location.

The shoebox store

The best place for the shoebox store would be on Henderson Street where it can be accessed by many people. The store will have an open storefront to maintain a sense of outdoorsyness, but will be covered on all other sides to protect the merchandise. Artists from the yearly Freo Street Art Festival will be invited to mural the sides of the building every year. As you may have noticed, the shop itself looks a little bit like a shoebox.

Preliminary shop sketch

Preliminary shop sketch

Proposed layout

Proposed layout

Detailed store layout with merchandise shelves indicated.

Detailed store layout with merchandise shelves indicated.

I created a mock-up of the store in Google Sketchup.

3D render

3D render

And then placed it in a photo I took off Googlemaps.

Placed in Henderson street

Placed in Henderson street

Then in order to make it image-ready for the booklet, I added a bit of colour and outlines.

Completed mockup

Completed mockup

I did the same for the stores location.

Location and Layout

Location and Layout

Leave a Reply

